Teacher Recognition Programs

Arkansas has so many wonderful teachers and Economics Arkansas enjoys honoring those who've demonstrated excellence in teaching economics. We have two programs that recognize outstanding economics educators.

Bessie B. Moore Awards Program

Moore Awards Winner

Linda Haley was honored during the 2013 Bessie B. Moore Awards luncheon for excellence in teaching economics.

The Bessie B. Moore Awards Program recognizes Arkansas teachers for going “above and beyond” what is required by developing outstanding economic and personal finance projects they integrate into the classroom during the school year. The recipients receive statewide recognition from board members and donors during an annual luncheon hosted each fall, plus a monetary award.

For a recap of the 2013 awards luncheon, complete with pictures, click here.

For a list of 2014 Moore Awards Recipients, click here.

We gratefully acknowledge the generous support from these major sponsors for the 2013 Bessie B. Moore Awards luncheon.

The 2013-2014 Bessie B. Moore Entry form has some exciting changes. To view the new form, click here.

Master Economics Teacher Program

Master Economics Teachers

The Polly M. Jackson Master Economics Teachers were named the 2007 Economic Education Advocates of the Year by Economics Arkansas.

Economics Arkansas certifies outstanding economics educators as Master Economics Teachers or METs. Participants in this choice initiative serve as “resource extenders” by providing training in economics and personal finance to other teachers across the state. Candidates undergo a rigorous nomination, selection and testing process before certification. Economics Arkansas is one of the few organizations in the national network of economic education councils fortunate to have such a unique group of teachers dedicated to helping promote economic literacy.

For a list of active METs, click here.