Skip to main content

Bessie B. Moore Awards Luncheon on Nov. 8

It’s time again to say, “Well done!”

On Nov. 8, 2012, Economics Arkansas will host the 17th Annual Bessie B. Moore Awards luncheon to honor 12 Arkansas educators for excellence in teaching economics. Ray Simon, former deputy secretary for the U.S. Department of Education, will present the awards and deliver the keynote address.

In addition to the award winners and their families, Arkansas Department of Education Commissioner Dr. Tom Kimbrell and EA board members will also attend the luncheon, which will be held at the Great Hall of the Clinton Presidential Center in Little Rock.

The Bessie B. Moore Awards Program offers cash awards and statewide recognition to stimulate creativity and innovation in economic education teaching practices. This year’s winners will receive $1,000 each and an inscribed acrylic. For a list of honorees and their classroom projects, click here.

Economics Arkansas launched the Bessie B. Moore Awards program in 1995 to honor exemplary teachers for successfully integrating economic principles into the classroom. The contest is open to educators K-12 from public and independent schools in Arkansas. To enter, teachers submit written descriptions of their projects, which are reviewed and judged by an independent panel of economic education specialists. The winners receive cash awards and plaques. Up to 12 awards are presented each year, six in a Newcomers division and another six in the Veterans category. The deadline to enter is typically in early to mid-July, with an awards luncheon in early November.

The 2012 Awards luncheon is made possible, in part, through the generous support of these organizations. Thank you.

  • Donate apple
  • ADA logo 200 x 56
  • Walton Family Foundation 200 x 86
  • ABA logo 200 x 86
  • Donate Apple
  • Murphy Foundation 200 x
  • Stephens