Skip to main content

13 Economics Teachers Receive 2014 Bessie B. Moore Awards

13 Economics Teachers Receive 2014 Bessie B. Moore Awards

13 Economics Teachers Receive 2014 Bessie B. Moore Awards

For more information, contact
Sue Owens, Executive Director

November 20, 2014

For Release to Statewide Media
For Immediate Release

Walmart executive emphasizes crucial role of educators in keynote address

LITTLE ROCK—The number 13 may be associated with bad luck, but there was nothing ominous about the 13 Arkansas public school teachers who were honored for excellence in economic teaching recently. Quite the contrary, they were beaming as they were recognized during the 19th Bessie B. Moore Awards luncheon at the Great Hall of the Clinton Presidential Center on Nov. 13. The gala was hosted by Economics Arkansas, a non-profit educational organization that promotes economic and personal finance literacy among Arkansas K-12 students.

The winners each received $1,000 and an inscribed glass plaque for classroom projects that included such diverse topics as the economic impact of the Super Bowl, the economics of survival during the Holocaust, and living in a Hooverville. Each concept taught fundamentals of economics, for example, scarcity, supply and demand, opportunity cost, free enterprise, and more.

Keynote speaker Michelle Hargis Wolfe, vice president of human resources at Walmart, congratulated the winners and stressed the impact good classroom teachers have on their students. She said she credits the many excellent educators in her life for inspiring her to lead a life in pursuit of learning and setting goals.

The 2014 Bessie B. Moore Awards winners and their projects include:
• Pamela Powell Connor, “Super Bowl Economic Playbook,” Elmdale Elementary School, Springdale School District
• Jerri Emrick, “National Treasures vs. Economic Trade-offs,” Ozark Junior High School, Ozark School District
• Tracy Floyd, “All Tied up in Economics,” Woods Elementary School, Fort Smith School District
• Allyson Barber Goodin, “Music, Money and More,” Wynne High School, Wynne School District
• Valerie Harp, “Economics Makes Students—Happy, Happy, Happy,” Hartford Elementary School, Hartford School District
• Kathryn JoAnne Robinson, “Night: The Economics of Survival,” Chaffin Junior High School, Fort Smith School District
• Deborah Shearer, “Economics is on the Loose with Dr. Seuss,” Baker Elementary School, Pulaski County Special School District
• Amy L. Smallwood, “Economics isn’t Depressing,” Grace Hill Elementary School, Rogers School District
• Lisa Taylor, “The Economics of Arkansas: The Land of Opportunity and the Natural State,” Willis D. Shaw Elementary School, Springdale School District
• Kristina Thrift, “All Tied up in Economics,” Woods Elementary School, Fort Smith School District
• Douglas Vann, “The Chemistry of Economics: What Really Matters!” Bryant High School, Bryant School District
• Shelina Warren, “TV Reality Check: Economics Style,” Scoggins-May-Hall GT Center, Pine Bluff School District
• Jennifer Wiggins, “Economics of Inventive Thinking,” Willis D. Shaw Elementary School, Springdale School District

More than 150 guests attended the awards luncheon, including David Humphrey, vice president of investor relations at ArcBest Corporation and EA board chair; Ray Hobbs, president of Daisy Outdoor Products and EA immediate past chair, Mike Poore, superintendent of the Bentonville School District and EA board president, and many other EA board members, superintendents, school administrators and teachers from across the state.

The 2014 gala luncheon was sponsored by the Arkansas Bankers Association, the Arkansas Department of Education, Daisy Outdoor Products, Arkansas Farm Bureau Insurance, Bean Hamilton Corporate Benefits, Farmers Bank & Trust Magnolia, Jim and Renee Wooten, Munro & Co., Arkansas Association of Educational Administrators, Friday, Eldredge & Clark, Horatio State Bank, Thomas & Thomas LLP, and UALR College of Business.

Economics Arkansas launched the Bessie B. Moore Awards program in 1995 to honor exemplary teachers for successfully integrating economic principles into the classroom. The contest is open to educators K-12 from public and independent schools in Arkansas. To enter, teachers submit written descriptions of their projects, which are reviewed and judged by an independent panel of economic education specialists. The winners receive cash awards and plaques. Awards are presented in the Newcomers and Veterans category. The deadline to enter is typically in early to mid-July. More information is available at

Economics Arkansas (through the Arkansas Council on Economic Education) is a private, non-profit, non-partisan educational organization founded in 1962 by Dr. Bessie B. Moore to promote economic literacy in Arkansas. Its mission is to promote economic literacy and the economic-way of thinking to PreK-12 students in Arkansas by empowering educators to teach the fourth “r,” real life economics.
• Real life economics teaches students:
• To invest in their human capital, opening opportunities to the American Dream.
• Decision-making skills and the costs associated with each decision.
• Financial skills to better manage their resources in the future.
• About the global market and their future roles as producers and consumers.

Note to media: Photos of winners are available upon request.


  • Donate apple
  • ADA logo 200 x 56
  • Walton Family Foundation 200 x 86
  • ABA logo 200 x 86
  • Donate Apple
  • Murphy Foundation 200 x
  • Stephens