Skip to main content

Bessie B. Moore Awards Program

The Bessie B. Moore Awards Program recognizes Arkansas teachers for going “above and beyond” what is required by developing outstanding economic and personal finance projects they integrate into the classroom during the school year. The recipients receive statewide recognition from board members and donors during an annual luncheon hosted each fall, a monetary award, and--premiering in 2016--"The Bessie."

The gala luncheon celebrating the 2018-19 winners took place Nov. 13, 2019, at the Clinton Presidential Center in Little Rock. The winners are:

  • Anna Badders, "The Lemonade Stand Hangout," Rogers School District
  • Amy Nicole Gordon, "Cupid's Creations," Fort Smith Public Schools
  • Valarie Harp, "P.I.E.S. Primary Investigators Economics Style," Hackett School District
  • Amy Mileham, "Truckin' Through Economics," Rogers School District

Sheila Humphrey, winner of multiple awards, honors and recognitions and recipient of countless hugs and smiles from grateful students during her long career as a truly beloved economics teacher, received the Lifetime Achievement Award

Photos are available for viewing and downloading here. Photo credit: Doris Krain

Valarie Harp, Anna Badders, Amy Mileham, Amy Nicole Gordon

We are very grateful to our sponsors for their generous support. Thank you. 

  • Donate apple
  • ADA logo 200 x 56
  • Walton Family Foundation 200 x 86
  • ABA logo 200 x 86
  • Donate Apple
  • Murphy Foundation 200 x
  • Stephens